Panic – Flash Fiction

flash fiction march 21

This week’s flash fiction challenge over at Carrot Ranch is to feature a bucket of water. In 99 words, no more, no less, write a short story or poem using a bucket of water as your prompt.

**************

Quick, quick, I yelled.

Where’s the bucket? Asked my son

It’s down in the basement by the washing machine.

Please just hurry up!

A candle that I’d left unattended for a few minutes had tipped over on the nightstand in my bedroom and had started a fire while landing on a book. All I could think was I could easily put it out before it spread.

Damn, I should have run and got the bucket of water myself.

Here, mom, I’ll toss the water on the fire for you.

Thank God it worked, just leaving an awful smoky smell.

Published by Susan Zutautas

A Canadian girl, born in Montreal, mother of three grown boys that lives with her husband in Ontario. Published author and poet. Loves to write flash fiction. Author of New In Town and two children's books which can be found on Amazon.

33 thoughts on “Panic – Flash Fiction

Please let me know you were here. Have a great day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.